Chartered Financial Analyst ™ (CFA)

Chartered Financial Analyst ™ (CFA)

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) registration is a globally recognized standard for measuring the competence and integrity of financial analysts. The curriculum develops and reinforces the knowledge of investment principles. As a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) candidate you study for three levels of exams and take them sequentially. Exams for all levels are held in locations around the world. Level 1 exams are held in June and December while Levels 2 and 3 are only given in June. You can take as long as you need to complete the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) program and there are no limits to the number of times you can sit for each exam.  Refer to:

Exam Requirements:

Candidates must complete the exams sequentially. Candidates who fail repeat that level the next period. Level 1 consists of multiple-choice questions, Levels 2 and 3 consist of problems, cases, essays, and a small number of multiple -choice questions. Application processing takes about three weeks with the final deadline generally being March 1. Applications can be filed over a specific time period with certain cut-off dates; the closer to the actual exam, the more expensive the application fee is.

Test Preparation:

A description of the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) certification and Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) test preparation materials are available by clicking here.

Securities Registration:

Many Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA) take staff positions in brokerage house research departments and go on to take the Series 7 and Series 63 exams. Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA) also often set up as Registered Investment Advisors (RIA), and take the Series 65 exam. Note that the Series 66 exam is accepted as the equivalent of the Series 63 and Series 65 exams only if the registrant holds the Series 7 exam.